“The Real Mom Review is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com."
A real mom of 4 reviewing various products & services with honesty & integrity. From natural beauty products to household items to groceries - the truth - so you can save dollars, time & sanity. No flames, no games, just a real mom reviewing.

Monday, December 29, 2014

CandiGirlBox Winner!

A big Congratulations to
Jessica D.
of Deville, LA!
She won the Holiday CandiGirlBox provided by CandiGirlBox.
(CandiGirlBox will be shipped directly to you from them.)
Thank you to everyone who entered.
Didn't win?
Don't worry, there will be another giveaway before long.
A big thank you to CandiGirlBox for the giveaway and for sending a box for my daughter Jada to review. Check out the review if you missed it:
If you have a special little girl in your life, ages 5-12, I encourage you to check out CandiGirlBox as a possible gift to her.
Remember what it was like to get mail when you were little? Well, multiply that by 100, and that's about how it feels when CandiGirlBox shows up in her mailbox quarterly!
You can find out more at CandiGirlBox.
Disclosure: The CandiGirlBox Holiday 2014 Box (for review purpose and for the giveaway) was provided by the folks over at CandiGirlBox. My honest opinion, as always, is strictly my own (as is my daughters).
Winner was randomly chosen via Rafflecopter (thank you Rafflecopter!).

Friday, December 12, 2014

Unboxing & GIVEAWAY of the Holiday 2014 CandiGirlBox!

I love this time of year!
I love giving gifts.
Thanks to the generous folks over at CandiGirlBox, I get to give an extra gift to one randomly selected reader...
Their very own Holiday 2014 CandiGirlBox!

Monday, December 8, 2014

Want That "Glow"? Let Me Introduce You to Highlighters!

Not too long ago, my BFF Jen told me that my skin was looking great, and in fact, had a "Glow" to it.
(You know that Glow...pregnant women, young girls, and women newly in love seem to have it.)
Well, I had recently started using my stash of highlighters more consistently, so I attributed it to that.

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

Two Great, Inexpensive Drugstore Products For Shiny (Not Greasy!) Hair

It occurred to me the other day as I was fixing my hair that I really, REALLY like two of my products...and that I had NOT shared them with you yet.

Friday, November 14, 2014

Kiss InstaWave Automatic Curler Review...Can My 9 Year Old Use It?

My daughter, 9, used a friend's automatic curler while spending the night and raved about it. Her hair looked really great, plus I didn't have to stand there and curl it for her. How awesome is that?!?!
However, when I found out the device used cost $99, it lost most of its awesomeness.
I was NOT willing to spend that kind of money on a hair styling tool.
So, when I was contacted to see if I had interest in doing a review for a similar product, the Kiss InstaWave Automatic Curler, I was intrigued.

Monday, October 13, 2014

Comparing Eye Primers: 4 Different Primers Go Head to Head!

I had not been a user of eye primers up until about six months ago. I simply didn't know much about them. Then, I began seeing and hearing about how they make such a difference in how your eyeshadow performs. Supposedly, they help your shadows not only last, but cut back on creasing caused by oily lids (of which I am Queen!), as well as make colors truly POP. So, I armed myself with some of the much touted "best" and proceeded to experiment.
I compared Smashbox Photo Finish Lid Primer, Smashbox 24 Hr Photo Finish Primer, LASplash Splashproof Sealer/Eyeshadow Base, and Too Faced Shadow Insurance.

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Reviewed: The NEW Keurig 2.0

A few weeks back I was thrilled to receive the brand new, not even in stores yet, Keurig 2.0 brewer.
Influenster sent it to me complimentary for review and testing purposes.

Saturday, September 13, 2014

At-Home Hair Color Fail.

First, let me say "sorry" for being so behind in posting. We've started back full swing with homeschooling 3 kids, co-op classes (I teach), piano lessons, plus...at work we are prepping for a huge concert, which means a lot of extra work for me. On top of that, a bunch of extra freelance work, a wedding, a HouseParty, my usual workouts...and I'm one busy Mama!
Right before all that "crazy busy" got started, I noticed that my really old highlights from Summer 2012 had grown out. Remember when I used Marc Anthony Easy Lites to do highlights myself? Check out the video if you're interested in that. It was really easy, with good results.
Anyways, the old highlights were about half way down my hair and I didn't like it. 

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Ariel & Snow White Beauty Book Winner!

So who won the two e.l.f. Beauty Books?
eyes lips face beauty books

Thursday, August 21, 2014

Lancer Eye Cream $95 - Did It Work?

I think we may all have at least one thing about ourselves that we wish we could improve.
For me, that would be my under eyes. I would even consider surgery (lower blepharoplasty) to fix my ever-present baggage...if it didn't cost $3K.
(OK, truth...also if it didn't look like such a painful & gross surgery.)
But, if there was some way to fix what genetics has given me that didn't require all that? Sign me up!
So, for now, I try the latest, (supposedly) greatest, most touted eye creams to see if they help.
The latest I tried?
Lancer Eye Contour Lifting Cream with MDCP Complex.

Monday, August 18, 2014

Urban Decay's NEW Perversion Mascara vs. Better Than Sex Mascara

In my August Ipsy Glambag
I got several cool items...
Cool cylindrical polka dot bag this month!

  I was very excited that we got to sample Urban Decay's NEW Perversion mascara so SOON after it just came out. That's what I'm talkin' 'bout, Ipsy!
Anyways, I did my unboxing video:
You can see all the things I got, plus, watch as I apply UD's Perversion on one eye while I follow up with Too Faced Better Than Sex mascara on the other eye.
What were the results?

Friday, August 8, 2014

Makeup By One Direction..."Up All Night" Collection Review & Tutorial

I've been stuck in a makeup rut.
Brown, gold, beige, taupe, bronze.
I don't often venture into bold, bright colors when it comes to makeup. Sometimes my lips get a little wild and colorful...but not my eyes. At least not often.
I had the opportunity to get out of that rut with the fun, playful new Makeup By One Direction. I had a blast creating some club-worthy looks with the "Up All Night" collection.
Up All Night Collection

Watch the video to see the peacock-inspired eye look I created with these gorgeous, quality shadows:

In the video, I also give all the details on the performance of each item in the collection: eye shadow palette, liner/crayon, lipgloss, lipstick, mascara, nail polish and vinyl stencil set.
Up All Night Makeup Set

Here's my swatching of the colors of this collection:
Up All Night Makeup Swatches

Check out these shots of a more tame, everyday look I also created with this same palette.
Neutral Eye with Up All Night Collection

And here's one look that's a bit between the two, using the neutrals above with that gorgeous, deep blue.
One Direction Mid Look

If you're interested in finding out more about these collections, check out the Makeup By One Direction Facebook page.

US RELEASE DATES: Macy's - August 11th Stage Stores – August 25th Dillards – August 25th Beauty Brands – August 25th Lord and Taylor - August 25th

I really like all the stuff in this collection, though the pink shade of the lipstick isn't really right for my complexion.
One Direction Lipstick is Extremely Pink
 I did find that when I put the lipgloss over the lipstick, it suited me a little bit better.

I'm more comfortable in neutrals/browns, though I will sometimes go bolder for fun. How about you?
Do you like to wear bold colors or neutrals best?

Disclosure: I received this product for review purposes from BrandBacker. I received no other compensation for this review, and my opinion is, as always, my own.

Friday, August 1, 2014

e.l.f. Ariel Beauty Book Review, Demo & Giveaway!

Disney elf giveaway
I am a fan of e.l.f. cosmetics...and I also have 2 little girls, so I'm a Disney Princess fan, too.
Of course I was attracted to these awesome new e.l.f. Disney collaboration products!
I picked up 2 of the Ariel palettes (aka Beauty Books), and one of the Snow White palettes.
Ariel and Snow White Beauty Book

Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Low Carb Comfort Food? It's Roast with Gravy!

It seems like most "comfort foods" are sky-high in carbs.
If you miss them, I've got a good one for you today.
It is not the "cleanest" meal ever, because it does have a few processed foods in it. So it won't work for some of you food "purists" (no judgment either way...promise).
But, if you're faced with falling off the wagon or fudging just a little...well, I think the latter would be the better option.
So here it is:
Low Carb Roast with Gravy
amazingly simple low carb comfort food

Saturday, July 26, 2014

2 Unboxings Up...The Boodle Box and Glossybox

I just wanted to give you all a quick heads-up that today I created 2 new unboxing videos.
I received the July 2014 Glossybox yesterday and recorded that unboxing, finally uploading to YouTube today:

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Youthful Wear Spotless Serum Foundation Review & Demo (A Dupe for bareSkin)

I was super excited when bareMinerals came out with their new bareSkin liquid/serum foundation back in May.
What's a good dupe for Bare Minerals Bare Skin
I used to LOVE bareMinerals loose powder foundation, but as I aged (and gained lines *sigh*), that powder tended to settle into those lines and actually age my look. I still drag it out every once in a while, hoping for great results, but find that it just doesn't work for me anymore.

Friday, July 11, 2014

Ivory Soap Clouds Experiment (Summer Time with Kids!)

Yes, it's been almost 3 weeks since my last post.
It's summer!
Plus, there was a holiday...AND my 41st birthday!
There's a garden to tend, a pool to clean, and
grass that just. won't. stop. growing.
I decided to incorporate a couple of my kiddos and do an experiment with the bar of Ivory soap I received (free) in my TLC VoxBox from Influenster.
To make soap clouds...super easy...super cool...
you'll need:
Easy Science Experiments for Kids

Thursday, June 26, 2014

Sneak Peek Preview of the July Boodle Box!

Can I just say...
If you have little girls and you have a little extra money to spend, you have GOT to get the Boodle Box!
It's crazy how much my 2 little princesses LOVE their Boodle Box each month. They SO look forward to getting it. And then, they are SO happy with it!
Subscription box for girls

 It's like the people who put the Boodle Boxes together know the hearts and minds of little girls...because they totally hit a homerun!

Saturday, June 21, 2014

Low Carb, Gluten Free Ranch Chicken

Chicken Quarters are Cheap(er)!
So, yes, I appreciate recipes that incorporate chicken quarters. After all, you can get them for about .59/lb.
I've got a WONDERFUL recipe for you.
cheap, easy low carb recipe

It is a HUGE favorite at our home.

Friday, June 13, 2014

Unboxing the Influenster TLC VoxBox (a FREE Goodie Box!)

A little while back I signed up over at Influenster to get in their VoxBox program.
Basically, you fill out some surveys, connect your social media to their site and wait to be chosen for a FREE goodie box. Free!? Yes!
So far I've gotten 2 and I'm a big fan of Influenster.
This particular box is the TLC box and was compiled with Moms in mind. Moms could use a little tender, loving care, right?!?!
Here's my video of the unboxing:

Sunday, June 8, 2014

That 3D Mascara You've Been Hearing About? Yes. Younique's Fiber Lashes...Reviewed

I had heard a few folks in some of my Facebook beauty groups rave over some new 3D fiber mascara.
Since, as you know, I'm addicted to mascara, I was very intrigued.
Lucky me, Amy Key sent a free set of the
Younique Moodstruck 3D Fiber Lashes:
review of extreme lengthening mascara
I was advised  by her that I could either...

Friday, May 30, 2014

Boodle Box Giveaway! Plus Sneak Peek of the June 2014 Boodle Box

Okay, I love subbies!
(Also know as subscription services)
I love the joy of getting a little gift each month...the surprise, the discovery, the fun of opening something. Don't you remember how much you loved getting mail as a kid?
Well, just imagine how much fun it is for the little girl (or tween or teenage girl) in your life to get her own subbie!
My girls are so excited to preview the June Boodle Box

Sunday, May 25, 2014

Massive Beauty Giveaway...5 Sets of Prizes!

"Cleaning Out My Beauty Stash" Giveaway!
Sometimes, a Product Junkie just looks at all her stuff she's been saving up and says,
"That's enough! It has to go NOW!"
That's where I'm at.

Wednesday, May 21, 2014

Low Carb Shepherd's Pie Recipe

Shepherd's Pie more healthy? Yep!
One of my fave comfort foods, and I figured out how to make it low carb.
I like it, the hubby likes it, and the kiddos like it.
Hope you will try it and like it, too!
It has a few steps, but it isn't really hard.

Saturday, May 17, 2014

5 S's for a Successful Shorts Season

Here are 5 S's
to help you have a more successful
Spring & Summer Shorts Season:
1.) Shave Cream.
Affordable great shave cream for women
Shorts show skin. Best if it's not hairy skin!
I've tried lots of shaving creams, foams, gels, lotions, etc. We are all different, but I've found that I truly like shave lotions/creams best.
They provide close, comfortable shaves, while moisturizing the skin better than most of the others. I like EOS and Skintimate, but Skintimate edges out EOS thanks to the packaging (EOS, as a pump, will end up leaving you with a lot of cream at the bottom that won't pump out, while Skintimate, being upside-down and a squeeze-type, will completely empty out with no problems).
2.) Shaving Razor.

Saturday, May 10, 2014

The Boodle Box: A Subscription Service for Teens & Tweens

I love my subscription services!
I currently receive 3: Birchbox, Glossybox & Ipsy Glambag.
My girls, ages 6 & 9 love watching me open my subscriptions and have often said that they would like to get their own subscription, too.
Recently, while perusing Instagram, I saw just the thing to fit the need:
The Boodle Box!

Wednesday, May 7, 2014

CK One Mascara vs. CoverGirl Flamed Out Mascara

If you're a regular reader, you know I'm obsessed with mascara.
I buy and try so many.
I've found some I really like (like Tarte's Lights, Camera, Flashes, reviewed HERE or Ulta's inexpensive Legendary Lengths, reviewed HERE ). Yet, I still keep buying and looking. Hence, "obsession".
The latest indulgence of my obsession involves another High-End vs. Drugstore comparison.
The competitors:

Thursday, May 1, 2014

April 2014 Glossybox Unboxing

My April Glossybox arrived today (yes, MAY 1st!).
At first I was a little bummed out when I opened it.
I just wasn't immediately thrilled with the collection.
However, after I started swatching & trying out the products, I had to upgrade my opinion.
bellapierre gloss, ciate polish, la splash primer, caldrea body wash, aqua spa body creme

Monday, April 28, 2014

Beauty Blender, Foundation Brush & Stippling Brush Comparison

Ever wonder which applicator you should use when applying your foundation?
Or if the Beauty Blender ($19.95) lives up to all the hype?
Yeah, me too.
which foundation applicator works best
So I did a comparison with 3 different applicators to see what, if any, difference there was.

Monday, April 21, 2014

Dove Clinical Deodorant vs. Secret Clinical Deodorant

Here in the Deep South, things are already heating up.
And I sweat like a man.
Yes, yuck.
In the warm months, I switch over to "clinical strength" deodorants.
I compared Secret Clinical and Suave Clinical a while back. You can check that out HERE.
This time around, I wanted to see what the difference might be between Dove Clinical and Secret Clinical.

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

April 2014 Ipsy Glambag Unboxing!

I got that pretty pink package yesterday!
I created a little video to show you what all came in my April Ipsy Glambag collection.
I swatched things, smelled things, tried things, commented on things...
You get the idea.
If you aren't a subscriber to my YouTube channel, I encourage you to become one. I don't typically link my unboxing videos to my blog, so you being subscribed will keep you from missing out on seeing what Birchbox, Ipsy & Glossybox are sending out.
Also, if you're interested in subscribing to Ipsy Glambag, you'll notice I have a very handy link to the right of my blog. I'll get credit for referring you, so I really appreciate it!
Do you like watching unboxings? I was surprised by how many people love them. I guess we sometimes live vicariously through others? Or maybe we're just curious to see what we might get if we decide to subscribe?

Tuesday, April 8, 2014

Low Carb, Gluten Free Chicken Nuggets Recipe Your Kids Will Love!

While all my family likes chicken nuggets, my 6 year old daughter LOVES them.
And while I do occasionally buy her the highly processed junk from the local fast food joint, I really prefer to serve her some that I've made myself...and that I can eat as well.
So, here's my recipe for Low Carb Chicken Nuggets.
And I hope that you and yours will like them as much as me and mine do!

Thursday, April 3, 2014

Tarte's Lights, Camera, Flashes vs. CoverGirl Bombshell Mascara

It's a Mascara Showdown!
High End Tarte vs. Drugstore CoverGirl
High end mascara and drugstore brand face off

Thursday, March 20, 2014

Amazing Concealer Reviewed on Eyes & Flaws

When I was in South Florida a little under 2 years ago, I developed a deep, dark tan & found myself needing a much darker shade of concealer. I found the nearest Ulta and went to find a shade that would match my new hue.
Having no clue what to buy, because I'd never been that tan in my life, I had to go with a prestige brand, because those you get to try out in the store.

Friday, March 7, 2014

Simple, Lower Carb, Organic, Gluten Free Spaghetti Sauce Recipe

If you've ever looked at the nutrition label on spaghetti sauce, you might have been surprised by the
sugar that's there.
I was.
It wasn't until I started my Low Carb journey
4 years ago that I began to see that
SUGAR is added to nearly everything.
Just take a look.
They put it in salad dressing, even!
So, I set out to make my own tomato-based sauce, because I am always drawn to Italian-type dishes, which often include tomato sauces.
Here's what I came up with, and am quite fond of.

Saturday, March 1, 2014

Inexpensive, Great Socks for Beginner to Moderate Runners

 I'm fairly new to the world of running,
having begun my "Couch to 5K" training in May 2013.
great inexpensive socks for moderate athletes
I now run regularly, usually around 3.3 miles, 3 times a week. So I consider myself a "moderate runner". I've learned a few things, though I still have much to learn.
In the beginning, I didn't want to purchase expensive equipment till I knew I would stick with it.
Money is tight around this house,
so I need to make it really count, ya know?

Friday, February 21, 2014

EZ, Super Tasty Low Carb Beef Enchiladas

This recipe is amazing. Everyone in my family raved.

Here's what you will need:
1-2 lbs ground beef (I only used 1 to save $$, but go with 2 for a more substantial meal)
Enchilada sauce (10 oz can)
Roughly 2-3 cups of grated cheese (I used Colby-Jack)

Tuesday, February 18, 2014

Macadamia Oil "Flawless" Sulfate-free Cleansing Conditioner Review & Demo

If you have frizzy hair, especially if it's wavy or curly, you really need to consider giving up shampoos with sulfates in them.
They strip your hair of it's natural oils and lead to more frizz.
They decrease general hair health.
If you have fine, limp hair this may not be for you.
Since I don't have that kind of hair, I can't honestly speak to that need.
With my crazy-bushy-frizzy-wavy hair, I can certainly speak to those of you with similar hair!
If nothing else, at least buy one bottle of sulfate-free shampoo and try it out till it's all gone and see how that works for ya.
If you find your hair gets too limp or lifeless, maybe use "regular" shampoo once every 5-7 washes, just to keep it from being weighed down by too much of your natural oils.
For those of you who have embraced sulfate-free already, and maybe are ready to try "co-washing" for even more "frizz-fight", I have a recommendation:
Macadamia Natural Oil Flawless Cleansing Conditioner.

Thursday, February 13, 2014

CoverGirl Bombshell $100 Gift Card Winner

A big Congratulations to
Jennifer S.
of Citronelle, AL!
She won the $100 WalMart Gift Card provided by CoverGirl
in promotion with their Bombshell Line.

Monday, February 10, 2014

A Miracle for Wrinkles!...Sort-of?

As I approached 40, I became a bit more aware of my forehead wrinkles and lines.
They've been there for a while now,
but I've successfully ignored them for the most part. 
After all, I've been fairly focused on
disliking my under eye bags
and lamenting the way they age me.
But, apparently the wrinkles,
especially the one above my nose,
just between my brows,
have become more noticeable to me.
They seem deeper.
I do use a fairly strong OTC retinol treatment (.5%), and I think it helps, but it's not good enough.
I wanted something to help make them disappear.
Like immediately.
Enter: L'Oreal Miracle Blur

Thursday, February 6, 2014

Super Secret Ingredient Low Carb Chili...shhh don't tell

What did you say you put in this?!?!?
That's the kind of reaction you might get if you tell people about the secret ingredient.
Just keep it to yourself.
My family eats this about every other week or so during cold months, and they still have no idea about the secret ingredient.
As a matter of fact, when I prepare this, I quickly open the Super Secret Ingredient's can, empty it into the pot and quickly (& quietly) throw it into the trash, making sure it ends up covered by something else.

Sunday, February 2, 2014

Beach Waves, Loose Curls, Tight Curls & More, from 1 Flat Iron?

Is it possible to get many different looks
from 1 inexpensive flat iron?
I decided to ditch my old large barrel curling iron
 and get a flat iron that could also make waves.
After watching tons (and I mean tons) of YouTube
videos with women from every walk of life
showing how they flatten, straighten, curl, and crimp
 their hair, I realized I WANT one of those!
I consulted friends, gurus, makeup-centric FB groups, and hundreds of product reviews trying to figure out WHICH flat iron to get.
I could get a CHI or Babyliss for $100+?
Or I could opt for a cheaper version,
but possibly end up with a dud?
As a mom to 4, with a very tight budget, I decided
 to forego the high-end brands and get a Conair.
Specifically, I got the Infiniti Pro Conair Flat Iron, 1.5 inch.

Monday, January 27, 2014

Review: Skinny Jane Weight Loss & Nutrition for Women, plus Giveaway

Disclosure: I got this product as part of an advertorial.

If you want to jump start your weight loss, Skinny Jane may be what you're looking for. I'm not big into shakes and specialty "diet" items...I eat low carb and most of what I eat is "whole foods", things I prepare myself from scratch. But, I do recognize that many people need "help" dieting, especially in the beginning, when they're trying to adjust.
Maybe they don't have time to fix a healthy breakfast. Or maybe you are on the go and prefer to drink a quick breakfast drink. Sometimes you just have to do what works, even if it is just for a little while. I realize this. As long as it isn't sugar-laden, I'm game to at least try it out.
So Skinny Jane sent me 4 flavors of their shakes to sample: Vanilla, Strawberry, Chocolate and Banana. They also sent me their "Burn" and "Cleanse" pills.

Sunday, January 19, 2014

CoverGirl Bombshell Line Review & $100 Walmart GC Giveaway

Have you tried the new COVERGIRL Bombshell line?
They offer:
  • COVERGIRL Bombshell Volume by LashBlast™ Mascara
  • COVERGIRL Bombshell Shine Shadow by LashBlast
  • COVERGIRL Bombshell Intensity Liner

Thursday, January 16, 2014

Low Carb Spaghetti Squash Casserole

Spaghetti Squash Casserole

Have you tried spaghetti squash?
It's kind of sweet in flavor (like sweet potatoes) when left plain, but when added to other savory foods, it takes on a savory quality.